idsassa.blogg.se

Es posible que hablar en ingles, por favor?

Publicerad 2013-02-08 23:32:02 i Allmänt,

Since I hardly spend anytime any longer with people who understand my mothertounge, I have gotten a lot of questions, why dont i write the blog in english? Since I still have about 500 cards to hand out and for the moment only know about five norweigans and one swede.

So lets give it a try. I am currently working on turning my collegues into swedish-understanders but everytime I just say Läget? They only give me a strange look and then turn away. Which they aswell sometimes do when I use the term "What up dog?". I am, apparently, a little bit nerdy and oldschool.
 
Even here people get surprised how I have survived three years living away from home with no knowledge about cooking. Yesterday I got some fine advise on how too cook pasta, spagetti. How to make it not stick to eachother and how to see when it is ready. Apparently there are other ways than throwing it into a wall. Which I usally miss anyway. And that the part in the middle of the garlic - isn´t garlic. The middle part that has a somewhat wierd shape is not meant for eating. But I do impress people with my porridge, I guess I should thank Magdalena for that!
 
Other languagebarriers I came across is the ones about expressions. Like a swedish saying is not translateable directly into english and doesn't maintain it's true meaning. A spider in a web is just a spider in a web - not a person that knows it all and is pulling all the threads. Neither is slipping on a banana shell getting somewhere accidently or easy. It's just a banan shell and then you recieve a roar of laughter. Well, I guess it is my own fault - I did learn this lesson already a year ago in Liverpool.
 
But I guess what I should focus is on my trip. And what I am doing.
 
I am a bored receptionist with little things that needs to be done. Which, on the other hand, gives me plenty of time to study spanish and work on that. Or work on my card tricks. Or read the news. I am actually getting pretty good with the cards.
 
After work I try to work-out, either spinning with music like Cotton Eye Joe, a bad Rihanna mix (of a already pretty bad Rihanna song) and different mixed salsa songs. If I get the time I go to "my" boxingclub where I get to hit the sack, hit the trainer and jump on a huge wheel. All this during the wierdest looks from the people around me. Yes, I am the only foreigner and, most of times, the only girl. Maybe it doesn't help that I have trouble understanding what they are saying aswell. Just smile and nod. Smile and nod.

The days I dont work-out is usally because we have some Trivia night, Salsa night or Live music in another place. Nevertheless, the beer is always cheap, the rum always taste good. And "degoma" has become a word everyone here is more or less familiar with.
Hungover.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela