idsassa.blogg.se

Not a meteor in Russia, but a crater in Nicaragua.

Publicerad 2013-02-16 14:56:45 i Allmänt,

Ladies and gentlemen
I would like to introduce you all to the wonders of Telica.

 
Telica is a volcano on more than 1000 metres above the sea level. It has one huge crater that measures up to 700m with a 120m depth. And it is one of the few places in Central America where you can see real lava.

Wow.

As soon as I entered Sonati and found out about this amazing opportunity I knew it was something that I had to do. But with work five days a week it was going to take me four weeks before the tour was arranged on a day when I wasn’t working. And even though the latest couple of days I spent most of my time in bed, feeling crap, I didn’t care. This was it. Here is my chance. A 2 day Telica trek was arranged and a work-change was possible. God damn it, I was going.

Since I got on board a little bit late I didn’t bother about booking a horse and instead decided to pack as lightly as possible. But I tell you all, it is hard to make 6litres of water weigh less. Lucky me, who am surrounded by nice people, John (one of our guides) had space for 4 of my 6 litres in one of the bags that was on a horse. Sweet.

Keely (my receptionist colleague and friend) said the hike up was hard, so I set my mind for almost impossible. I was expecting a new Momotombo. Instead, I got pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the top with almost no sweat loss. Haha, of course there was sweat. It felt like I was walking around in a sweat-pool, constantly trying to dry my face without success. With the only result that my face just got more and more dirty.

The hike was slightly less than five hours to the top and even here, an amazing view. You could see all the way till my precious love-hate Momotombo. And you know, there is a reason for all the volcanos lined up parallel with the ocean line. If you want to know it, I can hook you up with John. He is our volcanoexpert, and exists on facebook.

 

After a little siesta at the evening’s campsite we took a stroll to watch the sunset. Even if there is a limited number of sunsets that you do enjoy watching, (I believe if you see too many it is going to be blahablaha in the end), any sunset seen from a volcano is a big part of them.

We had a dinner by the campfire and some stories from the English couple before this tours Grand Attraction. We armed us with flashlights and took the last few steps to the crater where we laid on our stomachs peeping over the edge. And I ensure you all folks, the pictures isn’t close to making the sight justice.

 

 

Wow.

There are some things in life you just don’t expect to ever get the chance of seeing. Glowing lava is definitely one of them. It. Was. Amazing.

Afterwards we went back to the campfire, put some marshmallows on sticks, pored up some rum&coke and just absorbed the whole experience.
I hiked up a new volcano.
I got to see some beautiful views.
I saw lava, real lava.
I slept under the stars in only a sleeping bag in, what once was active, crater.

 

Kommentarer

Postat av: The balloon repair man

Publicerad 2013-02-16 19:14:31

Sounds fantastic, never knew you were such a outdoor enthusiast. When you come back we can go hiking and sleep under the stars at hallandsleden

Postat av: Hannah

Publicerad 2013-02-20 23:59:58

That. Sounds. AWESOME! Although I would probably never volontarily go on a 2-day trek, I must say I'm jealous. But hey, I've heard Hallandsleden can be a bitch too.

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela